top of page

Oct 9, 2021 7:30 PM
Springfield Symphony Orchestra


Samuel Coleridge-Taylor: Petite Suite de Concert Op. 77 (1911)
Antonin Dvorak: Slavonic Dances Op. 46 (1878)
Sergei Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No. 2 in G min, Op. 16 (1912)
With Simon Karakulidi, Piano

News Release: Springfield Symphony shows off swift moves in its Fancy Footwork concert | Springfield Symphony (

Juanita K. Hammons Hall for the Performing Arts

525 S. John Q. Hammons Parkway, Springfield, MO 65802

Saturday, October 9, 2021 7:30 PM

Springfield Symphony shows off swift moves in its Fancy Footwork concert

The Springfield Symphony continues its “Dance Mix” season at its classical concert Fancy Footwork on Saturday, October 9th at 7:30 p.m. The program will feature Dvořák’s Slavonic Dances, Samuel Coleridge-Taylor’s lively Petite Suite de concert, and 2021 Hellam Competition Winner Simon Karakulidi on Prokofiev’s Piano Concerto No. 2. The performance will take place at Juanita K. Hammons Hall for the Performing Arts.

“We called this concert Fancy Footwork in keeping with our dance theme, but it's really fancy fingerwork,” said Music Director and Conductor Kyle Wiley Pickett. “We will hear one of our two Hellam Competition winners this season, Simon Karakulidi, in Prokofiev's spectacular Piano Concerto No. 2 as his fingers just fly over the piano keys.  In return, you'll see our musicians in the orchestra performing some pretty fast fingerwork of their own in Dvořák's Slavonic Dances. Additionally, I’m excited to introduce our audiences to a less familiar piece, the very lively and charming Petite Suite de Concert, by composer Samuel Coleridge-Taylor. This concert will be an eclectic spectacle of orchestral and piano show-stoppers you won’t want to miss.”

Single Tickets are $10 - $50 with discounts available for students and seniors. Single Tickets will be available at the Hammons Hall box office by calling (417) 836-7678 or visiting Per Springfield Symphony Board of Directors, masks will be mandatory for Springfield Symphony staff, patrons, and musicians in Hammons Hall for concerts and events through October 2021. Single Livestream access starts at $22 per household and livestream access is available for purchase at

Join Pickett at our free monthly event, Behind the Baton, at Juanita K. Hammons Hall for the Performing Arts on Thursday, October 7th (525 S John Q Hammons Pkwy) or via Facebook Live on the Springfield Symphony Orchestra Facebook page. Take the opportunity to meet conductor Kyle Wiley Pickett and pianist Simon Karakulidi while hearing about the music that will be performed at the September 18th concert. The meet & greet begins at 5:15 p.m. with a mobile food cart provided by Mama Jean’s Natural Market and the program will begin at 5:45 p.m. The Facebook Live event takes place at 5:45 p.m. on the Thursday before each Springfield Symphony classical concert.

Pickett is available for any interviews or questions. Please feel free to email him at or call at (417) 837-9422. The concert is being sponsored by Presenting Season Sponsor Reliable Superstore, Mediacom, and Springfield News-Leader. For information on upcoming Springfield Symphony concert and events, visit

The Springfield Symphony Orchestra is a non-profit 501(c)(3) corporation and an Equal Opportunity Employer. Additional funding for all Springfield Symphony Orchestra programming is provided by the Missouri Arts Council, a state agency. For more information, visit or

bottom of page