top of page

Yiming Zhou

Orchestral Violinist
Doctor of Musical Arts
Registered Suzuki Teacher
Dr. Yiming "Joey" Zhou won the permanent violin positions at Springfield Symphony (MO) and Topeka Symphony (KS). Throughout his career, Dr. Zhou has also played with a wide variety of distinguished American orchestras, including the Kansas City Symphony, San Antonio Symphony, and more in the past.

Awarded 2020 American Prize
in Orchestral Performance

Featured in the performance of
Shostakovich Symphony No. 12

"Yiming was a musician possessed of great musical insight, powerful intellect, alongside flair, originality, and musicianship. He was a featured soloist in the orchestra’s performances which brought KU Symphony Orchestra national acclaim, namely the performance of Jennifer Higdon’s Fanfare Ritmico, for which the KU Symphony Orchestra was awarded the Ernst Bacon Prize for the Performance of American Music." 

— Carolyn Watson

Director of Orchestras, University of Illinois


Principal Violinist,
University of Kansas Symphony Orchestra 

"Yiming Zhou plays beautifully with a strong artistic presence and a gorgeous sound...Yiming also demonstrated his ability to play with a strong, soloistic sound yet blend well with other musicians. He possesses the rare skill of knowing when to lead and when to take a less assertive role in chamber music."

— Mary Ellen Goree
Principal 2nd Violin, San Antonio Symphony


Williams T. White String Quartet

"Joey's leadership in the William T. White ensemble was remarkable and unique. His finger speed is brilliant, his bow technique impeccable and his consistency and rhythm incredible."

— David Hays

Concertmaster, Springfield Symphony

bottom of page