top of page

Oct 7-9, 2022
Kansas City Symphony Orchestra

Michael Stern, conductor
Josh Jones, percussion

IMAN HABIBI: Jeder Baum Spricht (Every Tree Speaks)
ADAM SCHOENBERG Losing Earth, Percussion Concerto
RICHARD STRAUSS An Alpine Symphony

STRAUSS’ ALPINE SYMPHONY | Kansas City Symphony (

Helzberg Hall | Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts

1601 Broadway Blvd, Kansas City, MO 64108

Friday, October 7, 2022 8:00 PM

Saturday, October 8, 2022 8:00 PM

Sunday, October 9, 2022 2:00 PM

We all share this amazing planet with its extraordinary ecology and astonishing beauty. Composers often translate their own wonder and concern about Earth into compelling music. Iranian-Canadian composer Iman Habibi wrote Jeder Baum Spricht (Every Tree Speaks) as a reflection on Beethoven’s Fifth and Sixth symphonies during the observance of his 250th birthday year. Habibi’s music encapsulates Beethoven’s reverence for nature and expresses current worries about — and hope for — our environment.

Kansas Citians have embraced Adam Schoenberg’s high-spirited music, including his Grammy® Award-nominated Picture Studies, inspired by artwork in the Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art. His percussion concerto, Losing Earth, embodies the cyclical timelines of humanity and Earth, and the crisis presented by climate change. The music drives forward relentlessly but not without offering a sense of hope and optimism. Superbly skilled KCS Principal Percussionist Josh Jones is featured in this kaleidoscopic concerto.

Richard Strauss’ vivid depiction of summiting an Alpine peak is an exquisite expression of nature. An Alpine Symphony illustrates woods, meadows, a stream, a pasture, sunrise, a storm and so much more. Strauss represents nature while also conveying the human emotions it evokes. You won’t want to miss this mountaintop experience!

bottom of page